For All The Fucked-Up Children Of This World We Give You Spacemen 3

Front, insert and back of the Quiver At Dawn Entertainment CD
Fornt, inlat and tray of the Sympathy For The Record Industry CD

JASON: guitar/vocals/tambourine/harmonica
THE MAINLINER: guitar/feedback/slide guitar/harmonies
GNATTY: drums/cymbals/harmonies

Releases and Tracklistings
Released on Sympathy For The Record Industry, April 1995. LP and CD (both SFTRI 368).

  1. Things’ll Never Be The Same (Kember/Pierce)
  2. 2:35 (Kember/Pierce)
  3. Walkin’ With Jesus (Kember/Pierce)
  4. Fixin’ To Die (Bukka White)
  5. T.V. Catastrophe (Kember/Pierce)
  6. Things’ll Never Be The Same (Alternate Mix) (Kember/Pierce)
  7. Walkin’ With Jesus (Alternate Mix) (Kember/Pierce)

Preceded in January 1995 by a “pre-release” version on Quiver At Dawn Entertainment (who appear to have released nothing else) on a limited CD run of 500, and with the same tracklisting as the Sympathy release. The catalogue number 0DT21 has become attached to this as it is printed on the matrix of the CD, but the disc itself is identical to the Sympathy version, so that could equally well apply to both issues.

Reissued by Space Age Recordings, 2017, on mikly vinyl LP (ORBIT039LP) and CD (ORBIT039CD). Space Age vinyl released again in 2018. Tracklisting is the same as the Sympathy issue.

Reissued by Superior Viaduct, 2018. LP (SV155). Tracklisting is the same as the Sympathy issue.

Other Information
This is Spacemen 3’s first demo tape, recorded in 1984, which was sold for £1 by the Rugby record shop Convergence (although ‘Things’ll Never Be The Same’ was omitted from the tape). The versions of ‘Things’ll Never Be The Same’ and ‘Walkin’ With Jesus’ are significantly different from those that would appear on The Perfect Prescription, being played in the style of a lazy, blues shuffle.

“The first demos were ‘2.35’, ‘Walkin’ With Jesus’, ‘O.D. Catastrophe’ and ‘Fixin’ To Die’ – a really bad version of ‘Fixin’ To Die'”. Pete Kember interviewed in the second issue of the Spacemen 3 fanzine Outer Limits. (He’s not wrong.)

The differences between the first version and the alternate mixes of ‘Things’ll Never Be The Same’ and ‘Walkin’ With Jesus’ are negligible.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *